1970's Heisman Trophy Winners

There were many highs and lows seen in the 1970s decade of college football.  Many fans remember the multiple football team airplane crashed that took place.  They also remember how football become more mainstream thanks to the televeision.  Top football programs raked in millions of dollars for their colleges thanks to the attractive contracts they received from media outlets, mainly television.

The 1970 college football season was marked by tragedy, due to two airplane crashes. On October 2, one of the planes carrying the Wichita State football team crashed on the way to a game against Utah State, killing 31 people on board, including 14 players. Then, on November 14, the charter for the Marshall Thundering Herd crashed on the way home from a game against East Carolina, killing all 75 persons. At season's end, the Nebraska Cornhuskers won the AP national championship after Texas and Ohio State both lost in the postseason on New Year's Day.

The 1971 college football season saw Coach Bob Devaney's Nebraska Cornhuskers repeat as national champions. After being ranked 2nd in the preseason poll, Nebraska captured first place the following week and remained there for the rest of 1971 and won the Orange Bowl 38-6 in a #1 vs. #2 game against Alabama.

The 1972 college football season saw the USC Trojans, coached by John McKay, go undefeated and win the national championship as the unanimous choice of the fifty AP panelists. After being ranked eighth in the preseason, the Trojans were narrowly voted #1 in the first AP poll, and stayed out front for the rest of the year.

The 1977 college football season was one in which the top five teams all finished with records of 11-1-0. Notre Dame, which beat a #1 ranked Texas team in the Cotton Bowl Classic, became the national champion.

The 1979 NCAA Division I-A football season saw the Alabama Crimson Tide bring home a national title with a perfect 12-0 season. The title was Alabama's 11th claimed, though the number is disputed. It was their 6th Associated Press awarded title.

This was an extremely dominant Alabama team, only giving up 67 points the entire season and shutting out five opponents. The team won a tight one against LSU 3-0 and beat Auburn by a touchdown before beating Arkansas 24-9 in the Sugar Bowl.
In the 1970ís, college football had become the most attractive television package for networks other than professional football. With the evolution of media and increasing popularity, college football has turned into widely televised multimillion dollar business.

1970ís Winner
1970  Jim Plunkett
1971  Pat Sullivan
1972  Johnny Rodgers
1973  John Cappelletti
1974  Archie Griffin
1975  Archie Griffin
1976  Tony Dorsett
1977  Earl Campbell
1978  Billy Sims
1979  Charles White
Heisman Trophy Winners