Billy Cannon

Billy Cannon of Louisiana State University gained 598 yards rushing, an average of ran them back for 221 yards, returned eight kickoffs for 191 yards, scored seven touchdowns and punted 44 times for an average of 40.3 yards. The shifty, slashing 6'1", 210-pound "atomic cannon" was clocked in the hundred in 9.4 and was the scourge of LSU's Southeastern Conference opponents for three years.

LSU star Billy Cannon was a runaway winner, with his 1,316-point margin over Richie Lucas of Penn State ranking was the ninth highest in Heisman history. Cannon finished first in all five sections and had 519 first place votes to only 97 for runner-up Lucas.
Cannon had been originally elected to the College Football Hall of Fame in 1983, but the Hall rescinded the honor before his induction due to his confessed involvement in a counterfeiting scheme

The Hall elected him a second time in 2008 and he was formally inducted during a ceremony on December 9 of that year.
Heisman Trophy Winners
Vic Janowicz | Dick Kazmaier | Billy Vessels | John Lattner | Alan Ameche | Howard Cassady | Paul Hornung | John David Crow | Pete Dawkins | Billy Cannon

| 1940ís | 1950ís | 1960ís | 1970ís | 1980ís | 1990ís | 2000ís | 2010ís