Steve Owens

Steve Owens was the 1969 Heisman Trophy winner. Owens was the second Oklahoma Sooners player to win the Heisman Trophy, after Billy Vessels, and preceding Sam Bradford, Jason White and Billy Sims. He was the school's all time scorer with fifty-seven touchdowns until DeMarco Murray beat his record on October 16, 2010, and is third most on its career rushing chart with 4,041 yards. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions with their first round pick in the 1970 NFL Draft. In 1971, he became the first Lion to rush for over a thousand yards and made the Pro Bowl. However in 1975, Owens was forced to retire after a series of knee injuries had plagued him for the four seasons during 1972-1975.
Owens holds the distinction of executing touchdowns on the first three forward passes of his NCAA career. He also established the career rushing yards record of 3867 that stood for two years until Ed Marinaro broke it in 1971. His 1967-69 career points per game record would be broken the following season by Arkansas' Bill Burnett.
In 2006, a bronze statue of Owens was dedicated on the University of Oklahoma campus in Heisman Park, commemorating his 1969 award.
Heisman Trophy Winners